Apples and More Apples

We went to Baugher’s farm to go apple picking this weekend.  I love apple picking – as do the kids.  It just seems like something you are supposed to do in the fall.  Dan’s not a huge fan, but is willing to go along for the sake of a family outing.

Regardless of how many times I go to an apple orchard, I am always shocked at what a quick process apple picking is.  45 minutes to get to the farm, another 30 minutes to figure out how to get from the place where you park the car to the place where you actually pick the apples, and then about 3 minutes for the kids to fill up two big bags that inevitably get so heavy that they need to be carried by someone beyond the age of 10.

So here I am with more apples that I know what to do with… and it’s really a bit of a quandary.  There are hundreds of options for using apples in pies, cakes, and other such high sugar/not-so-great for you items.  I could make apple sauce, but that’s an awful lot of work to make something that you can buy perfectly good versions of at Wegmans.  I guess I’ll go with a few batches of whole wheat apple muffins… I imagine (hope) these will freeze well

Leave a comment